Meatball Stew

1 to 2 pounds of ground meat; pork, turkey, chicken, beef; your choice

Preferred seasonings for the raw meat

2 cups chopped celery

1 1/2 small onions or I medium onion, chopped; I used 1/2 a yellow onion and a whole white one, both small
1 sweet green pepper, chopped and diced
3 carrots, peeled and chopped, or 1/2 a bag of baby carrots

1 whole head of garlic, cloves peeled and chopped in 4ths or halves ( I know its a lot of garlic! BUT! its sssooo good!)

1 can of cream of celery soup
1 can of cream of mushroom soup

Large crockpot

Put chopped veggies into crock pot. add the cans of soup.

Put seasonings into the meat, make into small meatballs, about 1 teaspoon around in size, then fry them until browned, add to the crockopt; mix it all in together, turn the crockpot on low or high, depending upon the time you have for cooking, and let the stew cook.

When done, the veggies are tender, it may need a wee bit salt, definitely needs pepper, and is good and hot and filling. Serve with Garlic Bread, hot and toasty and well-buttered….a meal fit for kings….

Variation:

To make it ‘Italian style’, I usually use a good sweet raw Italian sausage cut up into chunks and instead of using mushroom soup and celery soup, I instead use diced tomatoes and Italian seasonings; you CAN use fresh tomatoes; I would recommend the pasta tomatoes; or you can use canned diced tomatoes with Italian seasonings.

To that, I would add 3 cups of chopped mushrooms, usually the white button ones…and I would use not only a sweet green pepper, I would also use a red sweet and a yellow sweet pepper as well; I would see about fire roasting them to use…

I would also use red sweet onions and chop up a couple of small summer or zuchinni squash to put in it as well.

I would serve this over a bed of spaghetti squash or pasta…perhaps potato gnocchi??

Leave a Reply

